PUMPKINS ON MY PORCH!

Pumpkins are now on my porch!  To me, there are few things that bring as much instantaneous pleasure to my senses as a pumpkin.  I enjoy the bright, friendly orange color that becomes almost iridescent at dusk.  I like the smooth, wavy feeling of its hard, outer shell.  Everything that has the taste of pumpkin combined with cinnamon, vanilla, and nutmeg bursts with deliciousness in my mouth.  The smell of toasted pumpkin seeds and warm pumpkin pie elicits such sense memory as to propel me into excited, childlike memories of fantastic costumes and trick-or-treats.  And, of course, there is the magic and beauty of the pumpkin carved into a jack-o-lantern.

 

Recently, I’ve been working with clients who wish to experience their lives at a more pleasurable level.  I ask them to identify the simple things in life that plunge them into their senses.  I do this by asking questions.  “What are the sights, tastes, sounds, and smells you enjoy most?  What things that you touch bring you a sense of calm, peace, and pleasure?”  As a person begins to share their answers to these questions, a smile comes across his or her face.  I observe as they shift toward feelings of happiness and joy simply by recalling the things in life that they enjoy.

 

This Halloween as I light my pumpkin (because I don’t let a Halloween pass without carving one), I will take a few extra minutes to sit and watch it glow.  I’ll breathe in the crisp, October night air.  I will smell the burning candle inside of the pumpkin and I will be grateful that I can taste, touch, smell, and see something so simple, so pure, and so beautiful.

 

If you haven’t carved a pumpkin since childhood, try it this year.  It may remind you of some of the simple joys in life.

 

Enjoying my senses!
Mark

www.MarkEdgarStephens.com

www.WhoAreYouChoosingToBe.com

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “PUMPKINS ON MY PORCH!”

  1. Sharon Says:

    I agree with all you said. We forget in the everyday living to appreciate the small pleasures that are all around us. Love the way you always seem to find and remind to stop and “smell the pumpkin”

  2. markedgarstephens Says:

    Hey Sharon. Yes, with every year and every day, I realize more and more often that joy is truly in the small things and the fullest appreciation of those small things. But, I know that from one “pumpkin smeller to another” you already know this!

Leave a comment