PLAYING NEW GAMES!

Yesterday, after the extended play of the World Cup Finals, I got together with a group of close friends for a games night/dinner event.  We laughed a lot and ate to our stomach’s content.  During the evening, I became aware how games that have a highly competitive nature tend to be less fun than those that are played for laughs (the World Cup is a good example of this).  If you are on the winning team or the winning side, things feel pretty good; if not, then not.  I noticed that when we got really serious about the rules and regulations of a game or overly invested in “winning,” the level of fun subsided.  When we were involved with games that kept the whole group active and working toward a common goal, there was more levity, more cooperation, and more laughter.

I like to play games as much as (and sometimes more than) others.  And, I really do like to win.  But, I am noticing that I am generally having more fun in life when the goal is to laugh, enjoy, and help the other players to succeed in a goal.  It makes me wonder how this aspect of game playing could be applied to the greater society.  What would things be like if individuals, communities, businesses, organizations, and governments worked toward the benefit of all; like a game in which all of the players enjoy the process, work together, laugh along the way, and achieve a common goal?  I think it’s a good question.  I’m going to play with that for a while.

Think tanking with a smile,

Mark

www.MarkEdgarStephens.com

www.WhoAreYouChoosingToBe.com

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment